The teams Millwall can face in Carabao Cup draw

MILLWALL have been seeded for the draw for the first round of the League Cup on Friday.

The Lions are in the southern section of the competition, which has been rebranded the Carabao Cup on a three-year deal worth £18million.

The draw will take place in Thailand – where Carabao, an energy drink company, was founded – and will be streamed live from 1pm on the EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, as well as on Facebook and

The draw will be conducted by former France World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, along with EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey and British ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson.

Millwall defeated Barnet 4-0 in the first round of last season’s competition, before losing 2-1 to Nottingham Forest in the next round.

Millwall will face an unseeded team from the southern section, with ties to be played the week beginning August 7.

Carabao Cup first round

Southern section seeded teams:

Aston Villa

Birmingham City


Bristol City

Bristol Rovers

Cardiff City

Charlton Athletic


Ipswich Town


Milton Keynes Dons

Norwich City

Oxford United

Peterborough United

Queens Park Rangers


Southend United

Wolverhampton Wanderers

Southern section unseeded teams:

AFC Wimbledon


Cambridge United

Cheltenham Town

Colchester United

Crawley Town

Exeter City

Forest Green Rovers


Luton Town

Newport County

Northampton Town

Plymouth Argyle



Swindon Town

Wycombe Wanderers

Yeovil Town

Meanwhile, the fixtures for the 2017-18 Championship season will be released on Wednesday, June 21 at 9am.

Image: EFL