Report: Peterborough 1- 2 Millwall

MILLWALL clinched their first three points of the new season courtesy of Darius Henderson's second-half winner at Peterborough.

The Lions fell behind to George Boyd's well-taken opener after just 11 minutes at London Road, but they deservedly drew level on the stroke of half-time through summer signing Scott Malone.

And Henderson capped a dominant second-half performance from Kenny Jackett's side when he drilled in from a tight angle after a flowing counter-attack in the 64th minute.

Jackett reshuffled his defence ahead of kick-off with Jack Smith missing through injury and centre-back Darren Ward dropped from the squad, meaning Alan Dunne and Karleigh Osborne were handed their first starts of the campaign.

But despite a solid start to the match, Millwall fell behind when Paul Taylor's threaded pass picked out Boyd on the edge of the area and the midfielder fired a ferocious drive across goal and into the far corner.

The Lions kept possesion for long spells thereafter without seriously testing Posh goalkeeper Bobby Olejnik and Josh Wright's long-range volley was the closest they came to finding an immediate response.

But their pressure was finally rewarded when Alan Dunne's deep cross was side-footed home by Malone at the back post in the 43rd minute.

The visitors came flying out of the traps at the start of the second period and James Henry, Shane Lowry and Andy Keogh all went close to adding a second.

But it was left to last-season's top-scorer Henderson to grab the winner, latching onto Keogh's through ball before composing himself and drilling into the corner in the 64th minute.

Henry nearly added a third for the Lions when his 25-yard drive crashed off the bar but one goal proved enough as Peterborough failed to find a leveller in five minutes of additional time.

Peterborough United: Olejnik, Alcock, Brisley, Zakuani, Bostwick, Tomlin, Boyd, Newell (McCann, 46mins), Frecklington (Swanson, 73mins), Ntlhe, P.Taylor (Sincalir, 46mins). Subs not used: Day, Little, Knight-Percival, Clarke-Harris.

Millwall: M.Taylor, Dunne, Malone, Abdou, Osborne, Lowry, Wright, Trotter, Henderson, Keogh, Henry  (Batt, 85mins). Subs not used: Forde, Shittu, Racon, Marquis, Feeney, C. Taylor.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *